BIG NEWS!!! Funky Frog has temporarily closed, but we've purchased a lot at Maple Bay Marina and are rebuilding a "new & improved" B&B with a view, walking distance to pub & seaplane. STAY TUNED!!
The Funky Frog B&B was awarded the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence in 2014 & 2015 and we have been rated by our guests as one of the top places to stay on Vancouver Island (currently ranked #8 of 517 B&B's and Inns on Vancouver Island). We are committed to providing each and every guest with the best possible experience and pride ourselves on our great customer service. By encouraging feedback from our guests and then implementing their suggestions, we continually increase the comfort level in our B&B to offer premiere accommodations. 
We are devoted to ensuring high quality, 100% satisfaction and the warmest coziest nights' sleep.
For more information, please





"Thank you Veronica & Dave for an amazing time spent at your beautiful B&B. It was the perfect location for our family to gather for the special day in our lives. Your hospitality has been above and beyond and we couldn't have imagined a better place to enjoy our time! The breakfast you provided for us was more than we could have asked for! Every meal was soooo delicious :) We look forward to visiting again in the future!"
Bev, Alyssa & Noah - Edmonton, AB - Aug 7-11, 2014



 "Our stay was more than we could ever ask for! Your B&B is the perfect home away from home. Our family felt right at home in your beautiful decor and comfortable living space. Thank you for making our stay spectacular! "
The Kuefler Family, Calgary AB - Aug 7-11, 2014



"Today our son gets married at Bird's Eye Cove Farm! The Funky Frog will form a beautiful part of this happy occasion and remain in our memory forever. Thank you for such hospitality. We wish you continued success, providing happy memories to all that stay at your wondrous B&B. Much appreciation!!"  
Bill & Barb - Norwood, ON - Aug 2, 2013



August 7-11, 2014: "This experience at the Funky Frog has been a memorable one. Thank you for providing our crazy family with a place to stay. You made this special occasion a memorable one. We will definitely be back"  - the Gargas clan

August 5, 2014: "Lovely people, lovely B&B. You folks have it down. Many thanks"   - Sharon

August 5, 2014: "Totally agree with Sharon. Lovely stay here but too short!  - Pat

July 26, 2014: "Thank you. We had a wonderful time"  - Helen & Grace

July 25, 2014: "Thank you for your exceptional hospitality! You have a beautiful B&B!"   -  Jennifer

July 25, 2014: "What a delightful oasis - relaxing on the patio and surrounded by a beautiful garden! Scrumptious breakfast"   - Linda

July 20, 2014: "Thanks you Dave and Veronica for your awesome hospitality. We enjoyed our stay very much. You have a beautiful place, so peaceful and serene. We will be back. Thank you for having us, we feel very much at home here."   - Po & Stefan

July 3, 2014: "Thanks. Great Stay" - Al and Barbara

June 20, 2014: "My first stay at a B&B will be hard to top. Kirsten and I enjoyed our stay very much! Loved the hot tub and everything about our stay was comfortable, relaxed and rejuvenating!"  - Ryan & Kirsten

June 15, 2014: "Thank you for your amazing hospitality - everything was excellent"  - Des

June 15, 2014: "Lovely weekend! Great Hosts! Thank you"    -  Irene

June 12-15, 2014: "Thank you so much for everything. Great food & Great hosts. Perfect spot for us wedding party folk. Kind Regards"   - Glen & Louise

June 15, 2014: "What she said ^^  Wonderful spot and comfy surrounding to savor! Thanks so much"  - Sue & Richard

June 12, 2014: "Thank you both for a relaxing and delightful stay on our road trip. You have a lovely place and thanks for a delicious breakfast :)"    -  Michelle & Elsa

May 8-13, 2014: "Dear Veronica & Dave, Thank you very much for your wonderful hospitality! We felt comfortable and welcome our entire stay. It was a pleasure meeting both of you and Toby! Many Thanks!"  - Charmaine, Ann, Toni & Jovienne

May 1, 2014: "My first B&B experience could not have been any better! From the beautifully decorated suite to the comfy bed to the scrumptious breakfast. Dave & Veronica, you are the perfect hosts! Thanks for everything and enjoy living your dream!"    - Carol

April 21, 2014: "Thanks so much for your hospitality, kindness & warmth. What a wonderful place to stay with our family. All the best"    - Jane 

April 20, 2014: "David & Veronica, Thank you for a delightful stay at your B&B. It turned out to be absolutely perfect for my family. We all had a great time. I'll look forward to coming back sometime in the future. All the best"    -  Vivian

April 19, 2014: "Thank you Dave & Veronica for an outstanding time! Our giant family descended upon you, and you made us feel welcome and cozy :) Thanks for being accommodating re: gluten-free requests, puppy etc... We luxuriated in the hot tub, then snuggled up in the softest housecoats ever, slept well, ate well and had a marvelous time. Merci!!         -  Kim and family

April 5-6, 2014: "Thanks Dave!"    - Harley, Sylvia, Coooper

Mar 1-3, 2014: 'Thanks for allowing us to truley relax and unwind. Your hospitality and warmth made our stay memorable for our first anniversary. We will be recommending your accommodations! Thanks again Dave, Veronica and little Toby!                                 -   Cheers Sharla and Ernie 
P.S. - Great breakfast! Comfy couches, warm company, comfortable bed, relaxing wood stove and hot tub = heaven

Feb 19, 2014: "Thanks so much for your great hospitality after a tiring day of house hunting! I hope to see you again before we actually move here! P.S.- breakfast OMG!! awesome!"      -  Dale G.​

Dec 30, 2013: "Thank you David & Veronica and the gentle Toby. Everything was so perfect that we stayed an extra wonderful night. The food was delicious, the garden spectacular and the decor serene and restful.   - 

Dec 30, 2013: "Thank you for the lovely accommodations and your genuine kindness. Everything was wonderful!" - Arelis & Liam

Nov 3, 2013: "Thank you for a wonderful night. After a day mushroom hunting, I appreciated warming in front of the woodstove - and the dip in the hot tub. Yours is a wonderful retreat. Thank you."  - Alison 

Oct 24, 2013: "Thanks for a lovely stay! Heading back to SF, but very happy we got to have such a comfy stay in your lovely cozy B&B. Take Care! P.S. Keep the Cowichan Valley Voice in mind!"  - Emily & Rick​ - San Francisco, CA

Oct 14, 2013: "Such an amazing stay ! I'm so glad we found you! Thank you so much Dave & Veronica. This was the perfect stay - friendly, welcoming & interesting hosts, lovely food, beautiful home and of course, the hot tub! I hope to be back soon"  - Claire & family - UK and Vancouver

Oct 5, 2013: "It's always good to have a great stay. Than you for being part of our Canada adventure!"  -  Petra & Heiko - Lemgo, Germany

Sept 2013: "Thank you for your amazing hospitality!! We will highly recommend the Funky Frog!!"  - Mike & Caroline​

Sept 19, 2013: "Thank you both (and Toby) for your kindness and having such a brilliant restful retreat to be able to feel at home in." - Shona - Nepean, ON

Sept 16, 2013: "Your place lived up to our expectations - a restful, peaceful sleep, a beautiful back yard (loved the late-night hot tub) and a delicious breakfast. We really enjoyed sharing our travel stories with you. Good Luck with the grapes!"  - Marlo & Darren - Winnipeg, MB

Sept 15, 2013: "Many thanks for staying in a wonderful B/B. Dave & Veronica are great hosts. Your whole yard area and inside is just beautiful. I will highly recommend this place."  - Mary - Victoria, BC

Sept 6, 2013: "Thank you very much for the terrific stay. Our family really enjoyed all the breakfasts, hot tub and amenities. Your personalities & interest added a lot to our stay. Thanks again."  - Ted - Tisdale, SK + Jeff, Christine & Nicole - Calgary, AB

Sept 6, 2013: "Our family had a wonderful stay. Thank you."  - Janet - New Westminster, BC

Sept 6, 2013: "Thank you for the wonderful stay. The setting was perfect, and the hosts, too."  - Betty - Nipawin, SK

Sept 5, 2013: "Peaceful & restful like others have stated before. Fantastique Gallerie Veronique!" - Helen & Chien - Hamilton, ON

Sept 4, 2013: "Thank goodness for "Trip Advisor". You truly have an amazing & restful oasis here! We will be sure to boast about this to our friends. Salut!!" - Flo n' Guy

Sept 3, 2013: "Thank you for your hospitality! We had a wonderful, relaxing stay here. We hope to visit again." - Nancy & Kenton

Sept 2, 2013: "Dave & Veronica, Thank you so much for a wonderful stay at he Funky Frog. The hospitality is amazing! Hopefully on our next trip west we will make our way back." - Leanne & David - Grimsby, ON

Aug 25, 2013: "What day is it? Ah, the time stands still and the rest is so quiet and restful. The PERFECT hosts. Wonderfully accommodating & friendly & interesting!" - Robin

Aug 24, 2013: "Thank you Dave & Veronica so much for the wonderful stay. It was beautiful. My daughters and I are already planning on a girl's weekend soon. Many thanks." - Hayley xo

Aug 24, 2013: "Fabulous stay!! Thank you very much for having us. Wish our stay was longer. We will be back for sure in the near future. Thank you. xoxo" - Kari

Aug 21, 2013: "Thank you for amazing hospitality. We highly recommend the Funky Frog." - Mike & Caroline - Victoria, BC

Aug 17, 2013: "We read about Funky Frog and its high rating on Trip Advisor. Needless to say we had high expectations when they are rated as #1 B&B in Duncan. We have found that all what was stated is true - this B&B is a hidden gem in the valley and Dave & Veronica are the perfect hosts. Thanks so much." - Turid & Ralph

Aug 11, 2013: "This place is outrageously clean everywhere!!!! Food is so good, appreciate the thought and effort in making them. Big thank you from us. Looking forward to be back soon." - Rebecca

Aug 8, 2013: " Thank you so much for the unforgettable hospitality. We will be back for sure!" - Deshka

Aug 5, 2013: "My son Stiles and I have really enjoyed staying in your home and getting to know the two of you. I've already let my wife know that the three of us need to come here in the future." - Rich & Stiles - Greensboro, NC

August, 2013: "A perfect stay! Great vibe, cool place, lively birds! and so helpful! Thank you. Breakfast was delicious too." - Amy & Mairead - London, UK

Aug 2, 2013: "Today our son gets married at Bird's Eye Cove Farm! The Funky Frog will form a beautiful part of this happy occasion and remain in our memory forever. Thank you for such hospitality. We wish you continued success, providing happy memories to all that stay at your wondrous B&B. Much appreciation!!" - Bill & Barb - Norwood, ON

Aug 2, 2013: "Great stay. Enjoyed every minute. Allen became a B&B believer!" - Maggie & Allen - Calgary, AB

Aug 2, 2013: "Great music collection. Great food. Nice garden. Good people. Awesome T-shirts. Can't wait to come back!" - Rick & Leslie - Oshawa, ON

July 28, 2013: "Thank you for everything! Your home is so welcoming & wonderful. Will definitely be back soon to create many more B&B memories." - Kristie & Trevor - Vancouver, BC

July 24, 2013: "Thanks for a peaceful stay in BC. Your home has all the amenities we needed and more. Your desire to make us comfortable guests is apparent. I enjoyed the gluten-free breakfasts. This island is remarkable for the vast food preference accommodations. Anyone we know coming to this area, we will be sure to tell them to stay at your B&B. It was a pleasure meeting the 2 of you." - Lori & Howard - San Anselmo, CA, USA

July 21, 2013: "You are wonderful hosts ~ the panko cod at the Maple Bay Marina was so good!! Your home is so comfortable and welcoming ~ best of luck in your B&B future." - Charlene - Victoria, BC

July 19, 2013: "Veronica & Dave, we can't thank you enough for opening your gorgeous home to us. This was our first experience with a BnB and I don't think anywhere we go from now on would ever live up to the Funky Frog. You both are such kind genuine people and friendships were made instantly. Breakfast was amazing each morning - it shows just how much dedication you put into this. The decor was so classy and neat. Next year when we return to buy a home, we will be visiting! Toby is the sweetest and cutest little dog we've ever seen and he was just the cherry on top of our stay! We love Toby. Thank you so much again." - Ali & Jared - Longview, AB

July, 2013: "It is so great to return to the Funky Frog and our friends Dave & Veronica! The changes and growth are awesome. Love it here." - Cindy & David

July 9, 2013: "We were here from the UK for our son's wedding at Bird's Eye Cove. We wanted to find accommodation where our family & friends could stay (11 people) and feel as if they were in a home environment and this is exactly what we felt at the Funky Frog. The rooms were beautiful and the communal living areas were just perfect for us to relax. As soon as we arrived, Veronica & David made us feel totally at home. Their hospitality and helpfulness knew no bounds, from providing a large BBQ for our meal, or the numerous trips to Duncan & Bird's Eye Cove in their car. The breakfasts were like nothing ever seen in a B&B - delicious. An incredibly relaxing atmosphere until we sat in front of the TV to watch Andy Murray in the final of the tennis at Wimbledon. Veronica & David even took our cheers and shouts at 9 in the morning with a smile. Where else could we have all sat in our dressing gowns, having breakfast watching the tennis?! The Funky Frog was all I wanted it to be and more. Thank you Veronica & David for helping us to make this the most perfect weekend." - Anne & Steve, UK

July 9, 2013: "What can we add - all was perfect. The breakfasts were yummy - thank you for your brilliant hospitality. We wish a great success with your business - Best Wishes." - Viv & George

July 8, 2013: "Lovely relaxing friendly bed/breakfast place with scrumptious food and a wonderful place to watch Andy Murray win Men's Final at Wimbledon sat in our dressing gowns. Thank you Veronica & Dave." - Carole

July 8, 2013: "Thank you both for the relaxing hospitality we experienced at the Funky Frog. The accommodation had everything we needed, from comfy bed to appetizing breakfasts. The terrace and garden areas are especially relaxing with the added interest of the local wild life. A great place to stay, you both made us feel very welcome. Thank you" - Nicole & Tony

June 29, 2013: "Thank you for such a comfortable and warm oasis in the middle of the journey to this beautiful island. We loved our room (Garry Oak) and so appreciate your attention to detail in the environment, the common room, garden, hot tub, etc. And the FOOD - scrumptious! Let us know if you ever make it to VA, USA wine country." - Evalyn & Frank

May 28, 2013: "Great place to stay. The amount of passion and thought you've put into every detail is obvious. Thanks for your hospitality." - Heather & Dave

May 17, 2013: "Enjoyed your hospitality and might not look at breakfast the same again. Our week of volunteering at the Raptors was made extra special by our stay at the Funky Frog. Hope your business grows for many years to come." -  Bruce & Dave

May 10, 2013: "The last 5 days have been a positive experience. The room was comfortable and cozy. The showers hot, the bed was comfy. Your yard is beautiful. The breakfasts were divine. The conversations were fun and the late night wine and crackers were great. We wish both of you every success in this wonderful B&B." - Bob & Judy

April 26-28, 2013: "WOW! What a fantastic stay. Hospitality is amazing. We really enjoyed chilling on the island, so relaxing and peaceful. Thank you so much for everything." - Shannon & Charlie

April 26, 2013: " Thank you Veronica & Dave for your gracious hospitality and helpful information. We enjoyed being "Funky Frogs" in the garden of paradise" - Jocelyn & Vikki

April 17, 2013: "David & Veronica, thanks so much for the wonderful visit and nice chats. This was just what I was looking for. You all are special people. Best of Luck with your new venture, Take Care" - Andy - Lynnwood, WA

Sept 2, 2012: "Lovely setting - quiet. Great breakfast Thanks. Will recommend to friends." -  Linda & Mike

August 25, 2012: "Extremely hospitable, thank you for a very pleasant but short stay. Love the energy. Take Care!" - The Taylor family

August 2012: " Good Luck in your new venture. We are sure you will be successful. Thank you for your great hospitality"  - Yvette & Les

Aug 18, 2012: "Thank you Dave & Veronica, we had a blast. It was great making new friends with you...You have a great B&B, the beds are good, the sofa-bed was great, the food was exceptional. We loved the waffles! We can see your dedication to your dream and know you will be successful. Good Luck."  - David, Cindy, Maureen

July 28, 2012: "We spend a wonderful time in BC, with friendly people, experienced a lot of animals, like whales, dolphins, black bears, racoons, eagles, birds, deer and at the end we found a 'funky frog'- purely by chance...Well, when we come back once we will come directly! We really enjoyed your relaxing place, great breakfast and the sunset talks with you...We are sure you'll have a successful future with your B&B!"  -  Anne & Michael - Germany

July 24, 2012: "Thank yo so much for your gracious hospitality and a beautiful rest on our Rotary Route Bike ride. You went 'above and beyond' and we are most grateful"  - Brian & Darlene - Calgary, AB

July 18, 2012: "Where did 5 days go?! How soon can we get back?! This has been a truly enjoyable stay on so many levels...space, food, garden, critter & company. Our thanks to both of you!" -  Kathy & John - Saskatoon, SK

June 30, 2012: "Thank you so much. The place is breath-taking and a true getaway from the city; plus the surprise waffles and fresh fruit in the morning. A soon to be repeat customer." - Meghan - Vancouver, BC


~ Reviews from Guests Attending 
Weddings at Bird's Eye Cove Farm ~




"Thank you Veronica, Dave and Toby for having us at your beautiful B&B! It has been a wonderful experience and a memorable stay! You have a beautiful home and we are going to miss your amazing breakfast and fabulous hospitality. You truly made it feel like a home away from home! We look forward to being your guests again in the future"           

Amy & Jody, Edm, AB - August 7-11, 2014

~ Recent In-house Guest Book Review ~

~ In-house Guest Book Reviews~

HomeOur Dreamy RoomsGalleryActivitiesEventsContact Us

Some images courtesy of Adore Studio and White Album Weddings http://on.fb.me/1cA7vEt
Are you a former guest? 

Would you like to leave a guest review in our website Guest Book?

Sign into our guest book and have your say!
Sign InView Entries
HomeOur Dreamy RoomsGalleryActivitiesEventsContact Us

​Funky Frog B&B Guest Reviews

Don't take our word for it, read what our former guests 
have to say about us:
GUEST REVIEWS of the Funky Frog B&B